Recently, I decided to take being concientious my health a little more seriously.  A diet change was in serious need for the guy who really liked to hit the $5 pizza place and not share.

I have yummy iced tea – and you could too.

So, in addition to a diet augmentation I cut out all of the fun stuff I had been drinking including the diet sodas.  I know they weren’t good for me (since the only healthful ingredient is water) and I needed a substitute.  I was introduced to tea.

Yes, yes, yes – I know you’re not a tea drinker.  I get it.  Really, neither am I.  However the tea was introduced in a very interesting form, almost like Kool-Aid with no sugar.  Oh yeah.

Tea bags and the finished products

There are several teas from a company called “Celestial Seasonings” that are fruity in nature: Lemon Zinger, Country Peach Passion, Raspberry Zinger, and True Blueberry to name a few.

So here’s what I do to make an iced tea from these, almost like a sugary children’s drink sans sugar.

Your Shopping List

  1. Tea: Go get yourself a box of a fruit flavored tea.  I drink the aforementioned Celestial Seasonings, but pick one that sounds good.  If you’re not sure, try the True Blueberry or Black Cherry Berry if either one of those sounds good to your taste buds.
  2. Stevia: Go get yourself a box of of NuNaturals NuStevia White Stevia powder packets.  Each pitcher of tea you brew will use 8 packets of this stevia, or more or less to your taste. I presume that other stevias on the market will do just as well but the one that I used previously (Truvia) had erythritol as the first ingredient, which is a sugar alcohol and I was looking to remove all external sources of sugar from my diet.
  3. A New Pitcher: I have a total of three 1-gallon pitchers for tea making.  The first was brand-x, but when I needed a couple more, I got the Rubbermaid 1-gallon pitcher from the local grocery store for about $6 each.  If you already have one you like, then great – one less thing for your list.  Get one that has a 3 quart measurement on the side, or find out how much 3 quarts is in that pitcher and make a mark on it for easy filling later.
  4. Some Ice: A bag of ice will come in very handy.  Necessary?  No.  However if you start making a bunch of tea and drink it throughout the week, a good assembly line will include some ice to cool down copious amounts of genital burning brewed tea.
  5. Presumptions: I’m presuming that you have a stove and pot or saucepan of a good size (3 quarts or more should do).  If you don’t have these things, I’m presuming you eat out of trash cans and you don’t need a yummy iced tea tutorial.

So you think you can tea?  Get the following ready:

  • 16 of your fruity tea bags
  • 8 of the small stevia packets, opened and placed into a small bowl
  • Pitcher with 4 or 5 handfuls of ice in it
  • 2 spoons
  • 1 plate
  • Pot of water
  • Something to listen to while you brew tea.  Perhaps the “Internet’s Favorite Quiz Show”, PopQuizzical?

Let’s do this.

  1. Start PopQuizzical, put the pot of water on the stove burner and turn the heat to high.  You should be sober; only the heat should be high.  Otherwise that whole burned genitals thing could be a painful reality.  Bring the water to a rapid boil.
  2. At the rapid boil point, drop in the 16 tea bags one at a time.  This is the point where I like to see each individual bag start to bleed into the water.  Once all 16 bags are in let the tea bags boil in the water for about a minute, then remove the pot from that burner and allow to cool.  And hey, turn off that burner too.  Are you trying to burn down the neighborhood?  Let the tea bags steep (sit in the hot water) for about 5 minutes.  The longer they steep, the stronger your brew.  And the stronger the brew, the less like Kool-Aid this will taste in the end.  You have been warned.
  3. At the end of that 5 minutes, grab the spoons and the plate.  Now it’s time for juicing the tea bags.  It sounds dirtier than it is.  Take a spoon and fish out a tea bag.  Placing the tea bag completely in the bowl of the spoon (the part you eat off of), place the second spoon on top of the first pressing the tea bag between the two spoon bowls.  Squeeze the liquid out of each tea bag into the pot with the tea brew, being careful to not crush the soggy tea bag spilling it’s contents into your soon-to-be-yummy tea.  Place the juiced tea bags onto the plate, continuing this for all 16 tea bags.
  4. You’ve got a pot of concentrated tea.  Take the bowl of 8 small packets of stevia and dump it into the brew, stirring with the spoons that are probably still right next to you.
  5. This is the step where you should be careful.  Take the pot of tea concentrate and pour it into the pitcher with the ice.  I have not found a way to spill a little of the tea, but my main concern is to not have 3rd degree burns on my sensitive areas.  Those areas include: all of me.
  6. Fill the rest of the pitcher up with water to the 3 quart line.
  7. Let the tea cool to room temperature, then either put some ice in a glass and start drinking or put it in the fridge and allow to chill.

I hope this in some small way helps you on your quest to better overall health.  I know that I needed something sugary from time to time, and this has really helped me.  And if you get adventurous and make several flavors of tea, seriously –  label the pitchers.

