One my new fave haunts: Boardgaming.com

One my new fave haunts: BoardGaming.com

I love games of all types: video games, audio quiz shows, freeze tag – and especially board games.

It’s been a while since I had a fascination with board games.  As an adult I have played a lot of “Settlers of Catan” and some scattered episodes of the games of my halcyon youth, but that was about it.  I had no idea there were games I was missing out on, or that my relationship with board games was like having a bad girlfriend.  You know, the kind that only wants to play Monopoly, Scrabble, and Sorry! (and she never was).

Now, that lost love has been rekindled thanks to two things: discovering Sentinels of the Multiverse at PAX Prime, and BoardGaming.com.

They've gamified everything.  It's insidious.

My profile page at BoardGaming.com.  They’ve gamified everything.  It’s insidious.

BoardGaming.com a great place to find out about board and app versions of board games via developer provided information, user reviews, and user supplied game tips.  However, that’s not the best part for me.  It’s the total gamification of the entire experience.  You get points for “favoriting” a game.  You get points for owning games.  Points for writing a review, for either finding or not finding a review helpful, or for having played and logging you’ve played a game.  Points, points, points.  Give me them cheevos.

With those points, you can purchase new avatars, new backgrounds for your profile page – all kinds of stuff.  You can also buy points (I did, but you don’t have to) to achieve the same effect, but it’s not mandatory.

BoardGaming.com has a very eye-pleasing interface, and if you like board games it’s a great place to find and exchange info.  It’s also fun to make lists of games you have, and games you want.  Santa, if you’re reading this, the games I want section is very up to date.

Avatarial evidence of my "Sentinels of the Multiverse" affection/affectation.

Avatarial evidence of my “Sentinels of the Multiverse” affection/affectation.

Full disclosure: I received no compensation for this gratuitous love for BoardGaming.com.  It would be great for you to use any of the invitation links that I have put throughout the post (which gives me points too), but this site has become so much fun for me and I wanted to share it with you.  Friend me when you sign up!

